NewsOne Featured Video

California — When the nominations for the 83rd Academy Awards were announced this morning, there were many names that were left off the list, but most notably, the exclusion of any African Americans in the 24 categories.

Among the omitted were Halle Berry, who received a Golden Globe nod for her acclaimed performance in ‘Frankie and Alice,’ and John Legend, who wrote and sung the song ‘Shine’ for the documentary ‘Waiting for Superman.’

A majority of critics had voted ‘Superman’ as the best doc of 2010 and yet it failed to make the nomination cut.

While Tyler Perry’s ‘For Colored Girls’ didn’t received the best of positive reviews with a 33% approval rating from the movie critics webnsite Rotten Tomatoes, many people singled out Kimberly Elise‘s performance and hoped that she would have landed a nod.

Below is the list of the 83nd Annual Oscar Nominations, which were announced Tuesday morning:

Best Picture

“Black Swan”

“The Fighter”


“The Kids Are All Right ”

“The King’s Speech”

“127 Hours”

“The Social Network”

“Toy Story 3″

“True Grit”

“Winter’s Bone”

Best Direction

Darren Aronofsky for “Black Swan”

Joel Coen and Ethan Coen for “True Grit”

David Fincher for “The Social Network”

Tom Hooper for “The King’s Speech”

David O. Russell for “The Fighter”

Actor in a Leading Role

Javier Bardem in “Biutiful”

Jeff Bridges in “True Grit”

Jesse Eisenberg in “The Social Network”

James Franco in “127 Hours”

Colin Firth in “The King’s Speech”

Actress in a Leading Role

Annette Bening in “The Kids Are All Right”

Nicole Kidman in “Rabbit Hole”

Jennifer Lawrence in “Winter’s Bone”

Natalie Portman in “Black Swan”

Michelle Williams in “Blue Valentine”

Actor in a Supporting Role

Christian Bale in “The Fighter”

John Hawkes in “Winter’s Bone”

Jeremy Renner in “The Town”

Mark Ruffalo in “The Kids Are All Right”

Geoffrey Rush in “The King’s Speech”

Actress in a Supporting Role

Amy Adams in “The Fighter”

Helena Bonham Carter in “The King’s Speech”

Melissa Leo in “The Fighter”

Hailee Steinfeld in “True Grit”

Jacki Weaver in “Animal Kingdom”

Adapted Screenplay

Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy for “127 Hours”

Aaron Sorkin for “The Social Network”

Michael Arndt, story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich for “Toy Story 3″

Joel Coen and Ethan Coen for “True Grit”

Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini for “Winter’s Bone”

Original Screenplay

Mike Leigh for “Another Year”

Screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson. Story by Keith Dorrington and Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson for “The Fighter”

Christopher Nolan for “Inception”

Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg for “The Kids Are All Right”

David Seidler for “The King’s Speech”

Animated Feature

“How to Train Your Dragon”

“The Illusionist”

“Toy Story 3″

Art Direction

“Alice in Wonderland”: Robert Stromberg (Production Design), Karen O’Hara (Set Decoration)

“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1″: Stuart Craig (Production Design), Stephenie McMillan (Set Decoration)

“Inception”: Guy Hendrix Dyas (Production Design), Larry Dias and Doug Mowat (Set Decoration)

“The King’s Speech”: Eve Stewart (Production Design), Judy Farr (Set Decoration)

“True Grit”: Jess Gonchor (Production Design), Nancy Haigh (Set Decoration)


“Black Swan”: Matthew Libatique

“Inception”: Wally Pfister

“The King’s Speech”: Danny Cohen

“The Social Network”: Jeff Cronenweth

“True Grit”: Roger Deakins

Costume Design

“Alice in Wonderland”: Colleen Atwood

“I Am Love”: Antonella Cannarozzi

“The King’s Speech”: Jenny Beavan

“The Tempest”: Sandy Powell

“True Grit”: Mary Zophres

Documentary (Feature)

“Exit through the Gift Shop”


“Inside Job”


“Waste Land”

Documentary (Short Subject)

“Killing in the Name”

“Poster Girl”

“Strangers No More”

“Sun Come Up”

“The Warriors of Qiugang”

Film Editing

“Black Swan”: Andrew Weisblum

“The Fighter”: Pamela Martin

“The King’s Speech”: Tariq Anwar

“127 Hours”: Jon Harris

“The Social Network”: Angus Wall and Kirk Baxter

Foreign Language Film

“Biutiful”: Mexico

“Dogtooth”: Greece

“In a Better World”: Denmark

“Incendies”: Canada

“Outside the Law (Hors-la-loi)”: Algeria


“Barney’s Version”: Adrien Morot

“The Way Back”: Edouard F. Henriques, Gregory Funk and Yolanda Toussieng

“The Wolfman”: Rick Baker and Dave Elsey

Music (Original Score)

“How to Train Your Dragon”: John Powell

“Inception”: Hans Zimmer

“The King’s Speech”: Alexandre Desplat

“127 Hours”: A.R. Rahman

“The Social Network”: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

Music (Original Song)

“Coming Home” from “Country Strong” Music and Lyric by Tom Douglas, Troy Verges and Hillary Lindsey

“I See the Light” from “Tangled” Music by Alan Menken Lyric by Glenn Slater

“If I Rise” from “127 Hours” Music by A.R. Rahman Lyric by Dido and Rollo Armstrong

“We Belong Together” from “Toy Story 3″ Music and Lyric by Randy Newman

Short Film (Animated)

“Day & Night”: Teddy Newton

“The Gruffalo”: Jakob Schuh and Max Lang

“Let’s Pollute”: Geefwee Boedoe

“The Lost Thing”: Shaun Tan and Andrew Ruhemann

“Madagascar, carnet de voyage (Madagascar, a Journey Diary)”: Bastien Dubois

Short Film (Live Action)

“The Confession”: Tanel Toom

“The Crush”: Michael Creagh

“God of Love”: Luke Matheny

“Na Wewe”: Ivan Goldschmidt

“Wish 143″: Ian Barnes and Samantha Waite

Sound Editing

“Inception”: Richard King

“Toy Story 3″: Tom Myers and Michael Silvers

“Tron: Legacy”: Gwendolyn Yates Whittle and Addison Teague

“True Grit”: Skip Lievsay and Craig Berkey

“Unstoppable”: Mark P. Stoeckinger

Sound Mixing

“Inception”: Lora Hirschberg, Gary A. Rizzo and Ed Novick

“The King’s Speech”: Paul Hamblin, Martin Jensen and John Midgley

“Salt”: Jeffrey J. Haboush, Greg P. Russell, Scott Millan and William Sarokin

“The Social Network”: Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick and Mark Weingarten

“True Grit”: Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland

Visual Effects

“Alice in Wonderland”: Ken Ralston, David Schaub, Carey Villegas and Sean Phillips

“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1″: Tim Burke, John Richardson, Christian Manz and Nicolas Aithadi

“Hereafter”: Michael Owens, Bryan Grill, Stephan Trojanski and Joe Farrell

“Inception”: Paul Franklin, Chris Corbould, Andrew Lockley and Peter Bebb

“Iron Man 2″: Janek Sirrs, Ben Snow, Ged Wright and Daniel Sudick