Top Ten Videos to watch

Hillary Clinton Campaigns In Louisville, Kentucky
Worried black businesswoman at desk
Tyler Perry And Soledad O'Brien Host Gala Honoring Bishop T.D. Jakes' 35 Years Of Ministry
Teacher with group of preschoolers sitting at table
FBI Officials Discuss Apprehension Of Explosions Suspect After Three-Day Manhunt
NFC Championship - San Francisco 49ers v Atlanta Falcons
Protests Erupt In Chicago After Video Of Police Shooting Of Teen Is Released
Nine Dead After Church Shooting In Charleston
Portrait of senior African woman holding money
President Bush Speals At Federalist Society's Gala
Police Line Tape
Senior Woman's Hands
Police officers running
New Orleans Residents Return to Housing Projects
David Banner
2010 Jazz Interlude Gala
Couple Together on Sidewalk
Serious decision
HIV Testing
Closing Arguments Held In Zimmerman Trial
Student Loan Application Form
Donald Trump in Nevada.
Hearing Held For Charleston Police Officer Who Shot And Killed Walter Scott
Leave a comment

Full gallery of nominees at the bottom

The 2011 Trumpet Awards — held today at the Hyatt Regency Atlanta —  honored U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder, civil rights leader Al Sharpton, and Radio One CEO Alfred C. Liggins III.* The awards were hosted by husband-and-wife actors Nicole Ari Parker and Boris Kodjoe, and TV personality Niecy Nash, and are scheduled to be broadcast in April 24 on TV One.

See EXCLUSIVE red carpet gallery here.

An annual event honoring African-Americans who contribute significantly to “the cause of justice and equality,” the Trumpet Awards have been held since 1993 and have honored in the past luminaries such as Muhammad Ali, Rosa Parks, Henry “Hank” Aaron, Rev. Jesse Jackson, and Michael Jordan.(For a full list of past honorees, click here).

Link: Al Sharpton’s Triumph Awards honor Cathy Hughes

The full list of this year’s honorees are:

  • Al Sharpton • Civil rights
  • Chief Justice Georgina Wood • International
  • Richard Roundtree • Arts
  • Judge Greg Mathis • Humanitarian
  • Paula Madison • Corporate leadership
  • Alfred C. Liggins III • Media
  • The Honorable Eric H. Holder, Jr. • Legal
  • Drs. Andre, Keith & Kevin Churchwell • Medicine
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. National Memorial • President’s Award
  • The O’Jays • Music
  • Xernona Clayton • Biography

Link: Radio One Chairwoman Cathy Hughes inducted into National Radio Hall Of Fame

In addition, the Trumpet Awards will be inducting a group of people onto its Walk of Fame. They are:

  • Arthur Blank • Entrepreneur/Philanthropist
  • Bishop Barbara L. King • Minister/Civil Rights Activist
  • Mayor Carl Stokes • First Black mayor
  • Henry “Hank” Thomas • Original freedom fighter
  • James Brown • Singer/performer
  • Leon Hall • Civil rights activist
  • Congressman Louis Stokes • Ohio’s First Black Congressman
  • Marc H. Morial • CEO, National Urban League
  • Bishop Neil C. Ellis • Minister/Civil Rights Activist
  • Dr. Gerald L. Durley

*(Editor’s note: NewsOne is owned by Radio One).