NewsOne Featured Video

Lil Wayne has proven that the third time was indeed the charm as his latest album, Tha Carter III, has earned him eight Grammy nominations, leading all artists for the 51st Annual Grammy Awards.

Wayne isn’t the only hip-hop act with multiple nods. Jay-Z, Ne-Yo and Kanye West each earned six nods, while R&B newcomer Jazmine Sullivan received five and T.I., Lupe Fiasco superproducer Danger Mouse each have four nominations.

“The Grammy Awards process once again has yielded a comprehensive, diverse and eclectic group of

excellent nominees across multiple genres,” said Neil Portnow, President/CEO of The Recording Academy.

“This year’s nominations are truly reflective of the talented community of artists and creators who represent

some of the highest levels of musical excellence.”

For the first time, nominations for the annual Grammy Awards were announced on primetime television as part of “The Grammy Nominations Concert Live!! — Countdown To Music’s Biggest Night.” The one-hour special, broadcast live on CBS from Los Angeles’ Nokia Theatre L.A. Live, featured past Grammy winners and nominees reading nominations in several categories, as well as performing songs from the Grammy Hall of Fame in celebration of the grand opening of the Grammy Museum.

Hosted by LL Cool J and country singer Taylor Swift, presenters and performers included Christina Aguilera, Mariah Carey, The Foo Fighters, B.B. King and John Mayer. The 51st Annual Grammy Awards will be held on Feb. 8, 2009 at Los Angeles’ Staples Center in Los Angeles and will be broadcast live on CBS. – RASHAUN HALL

Following is a sampling of nominations in 110 categories from the Grammy Awards’ 32 Fields:

Album Of The Year:

Viva La Vida Or Death And All His Friends — Coldplay

Tha Carter III — Lil Wayne

Year Of The Gentleman — Ne-Yo

Raising Sand — Robert Plant & Alison Krauss

In Rainbows — Radiohead

Record Of The Year:

“Chasing Pavements” — Adele

“Viva La Vida” — Coldplay

“Bleeding Love” — Leona Lewis

“Paper Planes” — M.I.A

“Please Read The Letter” — Robert Plant & Alison Krauss

Best New Artist:



Jonas Brothers

Lady Antebellum

Jazmine Sullivan

Song Of The Year:

“American Boy” — William Adams, Keith Harris, Josh Lopez, Caleb Speir, John Stephens, Estelle Swaray

& Kanye West, songwriters (Estelle Featuring Kanye West)

“Chasing Pavements” — Adele Adkins & Eg White, songwriters (Adele)

“I’m Yours” — Jason Mraz, songwriter (Jason Mraz)

“Love Song” — Sara Bareilles, songwriter (Sara Bareilles)

“Viva La Vida” — Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion, & Chris Martin, songwriters


Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals:

“Lesson Learned” — Alicia Keys & John Mayer

“4 Minutes” — Madonna, Justin Timberlake & Timbaland

“Rich Woman” — Robert Plant & Alison Krauss

“If I Never See Your Face Again” — Rihanna & Maroon 5

“No Air” — Jordin Sparks & Chris Brown

Best R&B Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocals:

“Ribbon In The Sky” — Boyz II Men

“Words” — Anthony David Featuring Indie.Arie

“Stay With Me (By The Sea)” — Al Green Featuring John Legend

“I’m His Only Woman” — Jennifer Hudson Featuring Fantasia

“Never Give You Up” — Raphael Saadiq Featuring Stevie Wonder & CJ Hilton

Best Urban/Alternative Performance:

“Say Goodbye To Love” — Kenna

“Wanna Be” — Maiysha

“Be OK” — Chrisette Michele Featuring

“Many Moons” — Janelle Monae

“Lovin You (Music)” — Wayna Featuring Kokayi

For Best R&B Album:

Love & Life — Eric Benét

Motown: A Journey Through Hitsville USA — Boyz II Men

Lay It Down — Al Green

Jennifer Hudson — Jennifer Hudson

The Way I See It — Raphael Saadiq

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration:

“American Boy” — Estelle Featuring Kanye West

“Low” — Flo Rida Featuring T-Pain

“Green Light” — John Legend & Andre 3000

“Got Money” — Lil Wayne Featuring T-Pain

“Superstar” — Lupe Fiasco Featuring Matthew Santos

Best Rap Song:

“Lollipop” — D. Carter, S. Garrett, D.Harrison, J. Scheffer & R. Zamor, songwriters

(Lil Wayne Featuring Static Major)

“Low” — T. Dillard, M. Humphrey & T-Pain, songwriters (Flo Rida Featuring T-Pain)

“Sexual Eruption” — Calvin Broadus, S. Lovejoy & D. Stewart, songwriters (Snoop Dogg)

“Superstar” — Lupe Fiasco & Soundtrakk, songwriter (Lupe Fiasco Featuring Matthew Santos)

“Swagga Like Us” — D. Carter, S. Carter, Clifford Harris, & Kanye West, songwriters (M. Arulpragasam,

N. Headon, M. Jones, J. Mellor, T. Pentz, P. Simonon, songwriters)(Jay-Z & T.I. Featuring Kanye West

& Lil Wayne)

Best Rap Album:

American Gangster — Jay-Z

Tha Carter III — Lil Wayne

The Cool — Lupe Fiasco

Nas — Nas

Paper Trail — T.I.