363 reads
Leave a comment

AmyPascal_640

Following the Sony Pictures e-mail hacking scandal, Amy Pascal (pictured right), the co-chairman of Sony Pictures, has resigned from her position. Pascal worked at the studio for almost 20 years and was responsible for overseeing the company’s movie business for over a decade. However, leaked e-mails connected to the release of the movie “The Interview” exposed everything from the fact that Pascal was having a hard time deciding what to do with the “Spiderman” franchise, to whether or not President Barack Obama favors movies that feature black actors. When the e-mails, allegedly hacked and released by N. Korea were made public, the media tore Pascal apart. “With news that Amy Pascal will step down from Sony, we are still concerned with larger issues in the film industry as a whole. This is bigger than just one person; diversity and equal standards have consistently been a major issue in this industry,” Reverend K.W. Tulloss of the National Action Network said in a statement. “We intend to continue to pursue and maintain focus on ensuring that Hollywood deals with not only the issue of fairness among Oscar nominations, but diversity amongst the voting members of the Academy, and industry hiring practices. Rev. Al Sharpton will meet with the NAN task force that was formed to address these issues in Los Angeles this weekend to formalize our plan and next steps moving forward.” Read more.


New Project Focuses on People of Color and Mental Illness

Within communities of color, people who struggle with mental illness often have it twice as hard. Not only do they face the struggles of getting adequate treatment, they’re often confronted with the stigma surrounding mental illness. In efforts to bring this issue to the forefront, Dior Vargas a Latina mental health activist launched a new photo campaign to combat the stereotypes faced by people of color who battle mental illness. The ‘People of Color & Mental Illness Photo Project’ features photos of men and women holding up signs that bear the names of their mental illness. Read more.


46th NAACP Image Awards To Air on TV One Tonight

The ‘46th NAACP Image Awards’ is slated to air on TV One tonight. The annual awards show shines a light on the accomplishments made by those within the African American community in the realms of arts, entertainment and social activism. Kerry Washington, Oprah Winfrey, Will Smith, Taraji P. Henson, Common, Keegan Michael Key, Angela Bassett, Laurence Fishburne and the cast of Black-ish will all take the stage. Spike Lee will receive the President’s Award and music mogul Clive Davis, will be honored with the Vanguard Award. The red carpet coverage will begin at 8 p.m. EST/7 p.m. CST and the show will air at 9 p.m. EST/8 p.m. CST.

Also On News One:
comments – Add Yours