WASHINGTON – The White House says former President George H.W. Bush, poet Maya Angelou (MEYE’-ah AN’-jeh-loo) and investor Warren Buffett are among the 2010 winners of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation’s highest civilian honor.

obama Post

President Barack Obama will present the awards to the 15 honorees early next year.

Other winners include a civil rights hero, Democratic Rep. John Lewis of Georgia, plus St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Famer Stan Musial, Boston Celtics legend Bill Russell, German Chancellor Angela Merkel (AHN’-geh-lah MEHR’-kuhl) and cellist Yo-Yo Ma.

The White House made the announcement Wednesday.


Obama Awards Medal Of Honor To Iowa Staff Sergeant

Obama Gives Sidney Poitier And Rev. Joseph Lowery Presidential Medal Of Freedom

Enhanced by Zemanta

Also On News One:
20 Tweets Dragging Roseanne Barr To A White Privilege Hell
ABC's 'Roseanne'
21 photos
More From NewsOne